122 replies to this topic

#1 Bexerella

Bexerella

faq.asianfanatics.net

• AF-newbie
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 11 December 2009 - 12:23 AM

not sure if this should be in maturity matters tbh..

my boyfriend pays for everything. when we go to eat, movies, days out etc. he's also very serious about repaying the money i spent on us the other day when he couldnt find a cash machine.

since were very comfortable talking about anything, i asked him why he insists on paying for everything, and that i dont mind paying sometimes. he answered he has a very traditional view, and that the guy should pay and take care of the girlfriend. "..yeung lui pan yao" <-- canto, thats the exact phrase he used.

he is abit younger than me and works, while im still a student but works in holidays. im not sure if that has anything to do with it since were in the 21st century..

so guys, what are your views?
girls - do you like being spoilt by boyfriend? or feel you dont need a guy to support you? personally i feel i dont need a guy to pay for things since i was paying for stuff before i had a boyfriend, so it doesnt make a difference.

guys - do you think its normal to pay for girlfriend? does it make you feel you are a 'gentleman' and taking care of you girlfriend?

please also state you ages if you could thanx! im 20 x

#2 alwaysmile4ever

alwaysmile4ever

faq.asianfanatics.net

• AF-newbie
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 11 December 2009 - 01:08 AM

im 16. I like paying for myself cuz i feel bad that my bf has to pay. but sometimes when he offers, i let him cuz he feels bad himself that i always say no. But then again, im also only 16, and neither of us have jobs. My money comes from Chinese New Year and such, but his money just comes from his mom, like he just asks his mom for money and she gives it. So, in that way, i feel like im just askign for his mom to pay for me =/ but, yeah, bottom line, i feel bad if he pays for me, but i let him do it sometimes

#3 ♥starlight♥