AF needs funding again

Photo
- - - - -

Something that is really hard to study for...

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 XDshirley

XDshirley

faq.asianfanatics.net

• Members+
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:58 AM

So my whole life, i have been failing in history because remembering years and peoples name is something i always found boring and impossible. High School ended and i thought that would be the end of me learning about historical stuff. In uni, i have a subject which is about the history of business, any tips on how to remember this type of stuff?

Thank you :)

#2 packofllamas

packofllamas

faq.asianfanatics.net

• AF-newbie
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 11:41 AM

I'm no history expert...I'm a science major :P

But I've been doing well in my history core classes at Uni because of two reasons: (1) studying smartly and (2) acknowledge history is not just dates and facts but an important dialogue that has lessons to teach from the past. There will be memorization but it's easier to know the flow of events and thinking and then insert the names and dates.

So I'm currently a senior at Uni and here's how I study:
i) Go to lec, write down whatever prof is saying...ON PAPER. and USE MULTICOLOR PENS. I like this one http://ecx.images-am...L500_AA300_.jpg

ii) After lec that day or tomorrow, read the book once but superficially. Or you can do this before lec if you're super asian. Either way, if it correlates with lec, it will be easier to read. Highlight if you want or mark it. this is the 2nd exposure to materials and should start to sink in. AND MAKE A TIMELINE IF THERE ARE A LOT OF DATES!!!